MINUTES of Franklin County Democratic Party Central & Executive Committee Meeting Held on January 25, 2024

Meeting was held on Thursday, January 25, 2024 at 6:00 p.m. at the IAFF Local 67 Union Hall located at 379 West Broad Street, Columbus, Ohio 43215.

Meeting called to order by Franklin County Democratic Party Chairman Michael Sexton.

Pledge of Allegiance led by Mike Schadek.

Introduction of elected officials by Chairman Sexton.

Rules of the Central & Executive Committee meeting explained by Chairman Sexton: Speakers must be recognized by the Chairman, limited to 3 minutes each, only one person may speak at a time and all comments must be relevant to the discussion at hand and all votes must be by a show of hands. Motion to accept rules approved by majority vote.

Minutes from the September 21, 2023 meeting approved by majority vote.

Treasurer report provided by Treasurer Kim Marinello. Balance on hand as of the last Treasurer's report to the Committee on July 26, 2023 was \$48,388.55. Contributions through January 23, 2024 were \$203,422.27. Expenses through January 23, 2024 were \$182,163.89. Current balance on hand is \$69,646.93. Treasurer report approved by majority vote.

Motion to approve appointments to the Franklin County Democratic Party Executive and Central Committee. The following individuals were approved by majority vote:

Executive Committee: Nancy Day-Achauer Ben Leland

Brian Shinn administered the oath of office to new members.

Primary endorsement process for the March 19, 2024 Primary is explained by Brian Shinn.

FCDP Screening Committee Report recommendations provided by Committee Chair Gretchen James. Members of the Screening Committee included Steve Campbell, Deborah Curry, Gretchen James, Rodney French, Melissa Sull, Mary Woods and Antone White.

Motion to adopt the Screening Committee recommendation to endorse incumbent Joyce Beatty for U.S. Representative District 3 approved by more than 60%.

Motion to adopt the Screening Committee recommendation to endorse Adam Miller for U.S. Representative District 15 approved by more than 60%.

FCDP Judicial Screening Committee Report recommendations provided by Committee Chair Brian Shinn. Members of the Judicial Screening Committee included Brian Shinn, Garrison Carr, Mike Sexton, Adam Nemann, Cathy Kurila, David Ingram, Ed Leonard, Ismail Mohamed, Janica Pierce Tucker, Jayme Staley, Jeff Hunley, John Gilligan, Kathy Malone, Mark Rutkus, Marquise Lovejoy, Mary Duffey, Mary Woods, Mel Fuhrmann, Richanne Zymkoski and Sean Mentel.

Motion to adopt the Judicial Screening Committee recommendation to endorse Laurel Beatty Blunt and Shawn Dingus for Ohio Court of Appeals, 10th District approved by more than 60%.

Motion to adopt the Judicial Screening Committee recommendation to endorse Jaiza Page, Karen Phipps, Kimberly Brown, Steve McIntosh, Elizabeth Gill, James Brown, Douglas Nobles and Monica Hawkins for Franklin County Court of Common Pleas approved by more than 60%.

Motion to adopt the Judicial Screening Committee recommendation to endorse Richard Brown for Franklin County Court of Common Pleas approved by more than 60%.

Motion to endorse Stephanie Hanna for Franklin County Court of Common Pleas fails.

Motion to adopt the Screening Committee recommendation to endorse Beth Liston for Ohio Senate, District 16 passes by more than 60%.

Motion to adopt the Screening Committee recommendation to endorse the following for Ohio House of Representatives approved by more than 60%:

HD 1-Dontavius Jarrells HD 2-Latyna Humphrey HD 4-Beryl Brown Piccolantonio HD 7-Allison Russo HD 8-Anita Somani HD 9-Munira Abdullahi HD 11-Crystal Lett HD 12-Brad Cotton

Motion to adopt the Screening Committee recommendation to endorse incumbent Ismail Mohamed for Ohio HD 3 approved by more than 60%.

Motion to endorse Abdi Diini for Ohio HD 3 fails.

Motion to adopt the Screening Committee recommendation to endorse the Franklin County Commissioners, Clerk of Courts, Sheriff, Recorder, Treasurer, Engineer and Coroner approved by more than 60%. The following were endorsed:

Kevin Boyce for Commissioner John O'Grady for Commissioner Maryellen O'Shaughnessy for Clerk of Courts Dallas Baldwin for Sheriff Danny O'Connor for Recorder Cheryl Brooks Sullivan for Treasurer Adam Fowler for Engineer Nate Overmire for Coroner

Motion to adopt the Screening Committee recommendation to endorse Anthony Pierson for Franklin County Prosecutor fails.

Motion to endorse Natalia Harris for Franklin County Prosecutor fails.

Motion to endorse Shayla Favor for Franklin County Prosecutor fails.

No Old Business mentioned.

Motion for Chairman Sexton to be able to make endorsements prior to the Primary approved by majority vote.

New Business included a request for orientation for new Central Committee and Executive Committee Members and a discussion of our current by-laws. We will hold a re-organization meeting most likely in late April to mid May after the Primary races are certified. February 20th is the voter registration/update deadline. Early vote begins on February 21st. Primary is on March 19th.

Motion to adjourn approved by a majority vote.