MINUTES of Franklin County Democratic Party Central & Executive Committee Meeting Held on July 26, 2023

Meeting was held on Wednesday, July 26, 2023 at 6:00 p.m. at the IAFF Local 67 Union Hall located at 379 West Broad Street, Columbus, Ohio 43215.

Meeting called to order by Franklin County Democratic Party Chairman Michael Sexton.

Pledge of Allegiance led by Meredith Lawson-Rowe.

Moment of silence held for Ann Shelly.

Introduction of elected officials by Chairman Sexton.

Rules of the Central & Executive Committee meeting explained by Chairman Sexton (speakers must be recognized by the Chairman, limited to 3 minutes each, only one person may speak at a time and all comments must be relevant to the discussion at hand and all votes must be by a show of hands, or in the case of a virtual meeting, by Zoom poll or phone). Motion to accept rules approved by majority vote.

Minutes from the April 20, 2023 meeting approved by majority vote.

Treasurer report provided by Treasurer Kim Marinello and read by Bill DeMora. Balance on hand as of the last Treasurer's report to the Committee on April 20, 2023 was \$75,583.81. Contributions through July 25, 2023 were \$86,897.34. Expenses through July 25, 2023 were \$105,533.49. Current balance on hand is \$58,947.66.

Motion to approve appointments to the Franklin County Democratic Party Executive Committee. The following individuals were approved by majority vote:

Executive Committee:
Jeremy Blake
David Ingram
Sean Mentel
Brian Rothenberg
Jamie Shumaker
Millie Vaughan

Bill DeMora administered the oath of office to new members.

Chairman Sexton explained ODP endorsements for No on Issue 1 on the August ballot and yes on the Reproductive Rights Amendment on the November ballot. Both endorsements approved by majority vote.

FCDP Screening Committee Report recommendations provided by Committee Chair Marquise Lovejoy.

Motion to adopt the Screening Committee recommendation to endorse Priya Tamilarasan for Gahanna City Attorney in the November 7, 2023 General Election approved by majority vote.

Motion to adopt the Screening Committee recommendation to endorse Merisa Bowers, Ross Goldsmith, and Jamille Jones for Gahanna City Council in the November 7, 2023 General Election approved by majority vote.

Motion to adopt the Screening Committee recommendation to endorse Beryl Brown Piccolantonio and Daphne Moehring for Gahanna-Jefferson City School District in the November 7, 2023 General Election approved by majority vote.

Motion to adopt the Screening Committee recommendation to endorse Anthony Caldwell and Lee Schreiner for South-Western City School District in the November 7, 2023 General Election approved by majority vote.

Motion to adopt the Screening Committee recommendation to endorse David Grimes and Ken Wright for Westerville City Council in the November 7, 2023 General Election approved by majority vote.

Motion to adopt the Screening Committee recommendation to endorse Jennifer Aultman and Louise Valentine for Westerville City School District in the November 7, 2023 General Election approved by majority vote.

Motion to adopt the Screening Committee recommendation to endorse Jennifer Adair, Sarah Ingles, Tina Pierce, and Brandon Simmons for Columbus City School District in the November 7, 2023 General Election approved by majority vote.

No Old Business mentioned.

New Business includes a Stonewall Dems meeting on August 1st, a Board of Elections update from BOE Director Antone White, and TJ Johnson has an event coming up on September 13th.

Announcements included the next meeting date in September, vote No on August 8th, early vote has started, canvasses every Saturday, filing deadline for more candidates August 9th...

Motion to adjourn approved by a majority vote.